History of MSC

Following the promulgation of the Physical Education and Sports Act in 1984, the MSC was set up in March 1986.

The main objective of the Mauritius Sports Council is “Quality and Quantity” (Through elitism, let us find the mass).



In March 1986, the first board consisting of twelve members nominated by the Ministry of Youth and Sports was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Pierre Philogene who officially inaugurated the MSC Headquarters on 5 March. The Board members were aware that they were the pioneers who would bring major changes in the structure of sports in Mauritius. The committee met once every two months for two hours of work and a press release was held at the end of each meeting. They introduced the Sports Award Gala Night in December 1986 to reward the sportsmen and sportswomen who have achieved outstanding performances during the year. During the first semester of 1987, a campaign was launched on Sports and Education. In 1992, the first Sports Directory – a calendar of major sporting events was published. The “Salon du Sport” was organised from the 9th to 16th October 1992 at the Forum, Curepipe, where 115 to 120 stands were put at the disposal of the Sports Federations.

In March 1996, a new board was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Roger Lamusse. He wanted to create a fund for needy athletes, to provide a risk assurance for the most talented one, and to look for a site to house some sports federations and a sports library.

In January 1998, a new board was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Michel Kwon. He introduced the MSC athlete Award of the Month, the Sports Journalist Award, and suggested the construction of a new building to house the Headquarters of the Mauritius Sports Council.

In January 1999, a new board was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Giandev Moteea. His first initiative was to renovate and embellish the existing sports infrastructure falling under the responsibility of the MSC. His main goal was that the MAURITIUS SPORTS COUNCIL should be perceived as an organism that should aim at serving all and being innovative. It should be able to control the expenses and manage the existing facilities with professionalism. The MAURITIUS SPORTS COUNCIL should be able to inspire trust and promote at the same time, the idea of fair play. He initiated the project concerning the setting of the Sports Documentation Centre as he firmly believed in Research and wanted the Centre to be an extension of the services provided by the University of Mauritius.

In November 2000, a new board was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Raj Gaya. The priority of Mr. Gaya was to professionalise the day-to-day running of the Sports Federations. He set up an award for the Youth below the age of 15. This award ceremony was named the” Milo Young Athlete Award”. In 2001 the “Fêtes des Sports” was organised in four regions of the country. The aim of the activity was to offer opportunities to students and athletes and help them discover sports that they never had the chance to practice for various reasons. At the same time, it was an opportunity for professionals and amateurs to interact. He completed the Sports Documentation Centre project initiated by his predecessor, and inaugurated it on 17 July 2001. He also introduced the “Junior Sportsman Award” and “Junior Sportswoman Award”. In 2003, the Sports Exhibition was held in all Municipalities and District Councils and the aim was to show the achievements to the public through pictures, medals, cups, trophies, magazines, memorabilia and any document pertaining to the history of sports in Mauritius.

In December 2005, a new board was set up under the chairmanship of Mr. Dhiraj Singh Khamajeet . By that time, both the MAURITIUS SPORTS COUNCIL budget has increased as well as its responsibilities too.



1986 to 1996 Mr. Pierre Philogene
1996 to 1997 Mr. Roger Lamusse
1997 to 1998 Mr. Michel Kwon
1999 to 2000 Mr. Giandev Moteea
2000 to 2005 Mr. Raj Gaya
2005 to 2010 Mr. Dhiraj Singh Khamajeet
2010 to 2014 Mr. Luxmi Narain Kris Appadoo
​2015 ​Mrs. Sarah Rawat Currimjee



1986 to 1988 Mr. Isram Jeewajee
1988 to 1996 Mr. Ram Lollchand
1996 to 2000 Mr. Mahen Purbhoo
2000 to 2002 Mr. Ram Lollchand
2002 to 2008 Mr. Indiressen Veerasamy Desscann
2008 to 2009 Mr. Dev Putty
2009 to 2011 Mr. Preetum Jhummun
2011 to 2015 Mr. Prasand Ujoodha
​2015 to 2016 ​Mr. Yougendranath Oree
2016 to 2017 Mr. Soudesh K. Appadoo
​2017 to 2019 ​Mr. Zameer Janoo​
2019 to 2021 Mr. Soudesh K. APPADOO
Skip to content